Call for papers

 Deadline: 5pm Friday 19 October 2018

Download pdf

Over the past twenty years or so an explosion in classical guitar research has been gradually redressing the balance for what James Tyler described as a ‘neglected’ instrument. It is now understood that musical practices, and to some extent the study of musical practices, of the classical guitar are technically, aesthetically and culturally mediated by the instrument. The theme of the Dublin Guitar Symposium examines this interface across a broad range of musical activities and perspectives.

This conference presents the most important recent trends in classical guitar research broadly divided into two areas: historical and contemporary perspectives. The first examines such critical areas as repertoire stylism, improvisation and performance practice; the second broaches issues such as performance studies, organology and the compositional process, and so forth.

With distinguished international figures Mark Delpriora (Manhattan School of Music, The Juilliard School) and Professor Steve Goss (IGRC, University of Surrey; Royal Academy of Music) delivering the keynote addresses, the conference is sure to contribute critical insight and understanding to guitar-related research. We are delighted to welcome renowned guitarist Pavel Steidl to the National Concert Hall of Ireland for an evening recital.

Proposals are sought for:

  • individual papers (20 minute presentation, 10 minutes discussion)
  • lecture-recitals (30 minute presentation, 15 minutes discussion) and
  • themed panel sessions (three papers, 90 minutes with discussion).    

Abstracts of 250 words maximum for individual papers and lecture-recitals, and no more than 500 words for panels can be submitted. Panel submissions are also to include an abstract of 250 words maximum for each individual speaker. A short biography of 150 words for each presenter/panelist should also be included. Abstracts should include the title of the paper/session; speaker name(s), affiliation(s); contact details; and technical requirements.

Abstracts must be submitted to by Friday 19 October, 5pm. The committee will notify all proposers of abstracts of their decision in early November 2018.

Conference Committee:
Eoin Flood, Conference Chair (DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama)
Marco Ramelli, Program Chair (DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama)
Morgan Buckley (Carlow College)
Kerry Houston (DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama)
Matthew Mazanek (Royal Irish Academy of Music)

Conference Advisory Committee:
Damian Evans (DIT Research Foundation for Music in Ireland)
John Feeley (Independent)
Maria McHale (DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama)
Michael O’Toole (Waterford Institute of Technology, Royal Irish Academy of Music)
Adrian Smith (DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama)